top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaha journalism

How a Virus Ultimately Puked on Our School Year By Mei Avila


As of April 17, 2020, America has been in quarantine for a little over 3 weeks. While most of the general student population have been rather nonchalant about precautionary procedures, a select few have been panicking and depressingly subtweeting 2015 emo quotes; and while I’m not necessarily either, I still drank little bitch juice™ this morning. Enter Mei Avila, a self proclaimed early graduate that painstakingly skipped 2 years of high school to graduate early.

Due to my inability to socialize with people with my age and class, hunting down my senior friends for interviews wasn’t inherently that hard. Starting off is Keller Sedillio-Garrido, who graduated from Early College Academy. When asked how he’s been handling college shut down, he replied with, “It’s alright. I’m handling it alright. I’m glad that the college (New Mexico State University) isn’t completely closed and I can still continue my education from home. I miss my roommate though.” He also stated that if he were still a high school senior his views from an educational standpoint wouldn’t change much. “I’m still being affected by the virus, but if I was still a high school senior right now I would be glad that I’m spending the last few months at home, you know. At my own pace.” Keller is currently playing a zombie survival game and calling every zombie he sees a nerd, unironically.

Next is Damian Chavez and Josh Nolle Balgua, who both graduated from Atrisco Heritage Academy. How was life for Damian though, you may ask. “My life as I lived it normally was already quarantined. Which is sad, to say the least. I’m practically living normally.” Oh Damian, you cheeky NEET. Does he feel bad for our seniors though? “To put it briefly, yeah I do. If I was still a senior right now I’d still keep in touch with academic officials to see if we were still graduating or not..”

Meanwhile Josh isn’t living his best life right now. He’s expressed the stress he’s had with online college courses at NMT. He’s also said that he misses being in physical contact with his friends Damian and Keller. We had planned to spend Spring Break together, but that’s sadly been put off indefinitely.

Lastly are Isabelle Villicana and Gabriel Charlie, who both graduated from UNM-Gallup as a Middle College High School Student, or simply, a dual credit school.

Iabelle, or as I call her, Izzy, has been a bit depressed overall. “I know it’s not that bad, it’s just weird. Being diagnosed with clinical depression and ADHD after high school is deprecating because I thought I was just dumb. I can’t even see my therapist because of the lock down. I would be sad if I were a senior going through this, but then again (we) were at MCHS. I’m also sad that people are being xenophobic towards Asians. I’m sorry Mei.”

Gabriel, or Gabe, on the other hand, has been contemplating his life decisions. “Being on lockdown is making me rethink everything. Who I was as a person in high school, and who I am now. Am I that much of an asshole? I don’t know why people like me.” When education was brought up into the conversation, he quickly downplayed it. “Uh, I’m an Only Fans model now Mei. God.” He’s not, he’s a depressed Electrical Engineering Major at UNM, but more props to him if he is.

At the end of the day, the responses weren’t those I wholly expected. Many people seem to believe that quarantine has been nothing more than an extended vacation, I’m looking at you you fucking musty ass ungrateful Tik Tokkers; while others are heavily impacted by it education wise such as incoming college freshmen, existing college students, and high school seniors.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page